Alexion Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Alexion Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Alexion Pharmaceuticals Chief Executive Officer Ludwig Hantson (no image)
Ludwig Hantson
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits for most people(in 23 reviews)

  • "Meaningful work, good pay and benefits, and some really great people(in 22 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "WORKING FOR ALEXION"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - DIRECTOR of TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT EMEA in Killiney, Dublin

    I worked at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training Great career structure great colleagues Super line manager

    Cons

    There were none Absolutely great experience

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2017-02-15
  2. "Well paid, but expected to deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Inspection Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and bonuses. Good holidays.

    Cons

    High pressure, working conditions very dependent on reporting manager

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2020-01-13
  3. "Making Some Progress..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Amazing staff with great drive and knowledge Great cross functional collaboration Because of the constant change and speed you have no choice but to learn continuously Always pushed out of your comfort zone to deliver Great benefits & package The company is really working to change the culture Great physical site with lots of benefits and perks

    Cons

    Extremely busy all of the time Overuse of meetings trend for everything needs to be done yesterday Constant resource challenge Not enough focus on genuine staff burnout

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, even in the short term, to allow the big ticket projects to be completed, thus reducing the constant strain on very talented staff Listen and actually hear what your middle management is telling you with regards to people and pressures Reward and recognize more consistently

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2019-09-04
  4. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Nice people Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Under resourced in all departments No real opportunity for career progression Senior Management clique

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2019-08-28
  5. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, people, good location, pay

    Cons

    To many managers, work life balance

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2019-02-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Employees are really great people, extremely hard working with a common goal that pull together to get the job done no matter what. Good pay and benefits. Some great new senior management.

    Cons

    Not enough head count for size of operation A lot of senior level management leaving Need more recognition and opportunities for long term employees Culture is improving but still a bit to go.

    Advice to Management

    A priority for the company needs to be work life balance. While there is a lot of work going on in this space, this will only truly improve if the employee head count is adequate.

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Really Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Life changing products in the rare disease market

    Cons

    Zero work life balance. The organisation is top heavy with management but not enough staff to do the actual work required. Chaotic environment. Very low employee morale and the worst culture I have ever experienced in a workplace.

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2018-05-26
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Ridiculous and cold recruitment process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Nice building and good canteen

    Cons

    Shocking recruitment process for Dublin branch. Three times I was told I would hear news by a certain date and all three times I would recieve a call more than a week over said time. Had two interviews was told after second interview I would hear within 10 days, four weeks later and two unanswered emails later I received a rejection call. Very cruel and unprofessional way to treat prospective employees

    Advice to Management

    Abit more respectful of prospective employees feelings and time.

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2018-04-01
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location and nice building

    Cons

    Understaffed, poor training. very disorganized company, taking on too many projects at the same time.very high staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Higher more staff but take time to train them not just throw them in deep end

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2017-10-27
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Egotistical managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alexion Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Money, canteen was very good.

    Cons

    Self absorbed senior management. Top heavy organisation, managers jostling for position and throwing there weight around. Huge staff turn over, negative atmosphere. Quality systems were pathetic. Madhouse.

    Advice to Management

    Staff members promoted however no new boots on the ground to replace them. Disastrous management plan.

    Alexion Pharmaceuticals2017-08-28
Found 347 reviews