Akzo Nobel Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Akzo Nobel Worldwide Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Akzo Nobel Worldwide CEO Thierry Vanlancker
Thierry Vanlancker
105 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "o existe plano de carreira definido e funcional(in 52 reviews)

  • "Precisa melhorar o plano de carreira e desenvolver melhor os colaboradores para poderes estar aptos a exercerem melhores cargos em rela(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My 5 year tenure at AkzoNobel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Customer Service & Demand Planner in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Healthy environment and opportunity to excel

    Cons

    None in general, good place to work for.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-12-10
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Coordinator in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid company with a great tradition

    Cons

    Too much outsourcing of services

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-29
  3. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Officer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good to groom, work friendly,

    Cons

    no cons good to work

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-23
  4. "Good Company but undergoing organisational changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Engineer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, flexible working hours, nice atmosphere and behaviour, (some) knowledgeable managers, good honest working people at the lower levels, generally you feel you are being heard and occasionally rewarded for your hard work.

    Cons

    Complex processes, sometimes losing the bigger picture, very often changing focus and priorities, not always meritocracy, some managers were difficult to work with, not always assigning full responsibility over actions and duties.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-18
  5. "Good development environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People caring culture with development opportunities

    Cons

    Frequent organizational change and lower pay

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-15
  6. "Pay & benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Accountant - General in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MNC which gives you more exposure to core accounting activities

    Cons

    Less career growth if you are looking for advancements

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-14
  7. "organization under pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Information Manager in Sassenheim
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Proud of products, passion for paint

    Cons

    15% ROS by 2020 is leading in any business decision, so again cost savings and no organic growth except price increases which BU management has never managed on their own

    Advice to Management

    Employee Satisfaction is more than a short term bonus driver and authentic behaviour pays off

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-15
  8. "Avoid the Houston Tx site"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Laborer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the benefits are good, 401k, pto.

    Cons

    It seems like the more you kiss butt around there, the more they reward you. Upper management picks and chooses who they want to bend the rules for. People are passive aggressive and unprofessional. Very "clique-ish."

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-11-12
  9. "Steer clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits - great health insurance and a 401k match that’s hard to beat.

    Cons

    Toxic culture is an understatement. Merit increases and bonuses are minimal. New office is very nice but all open concept which I know some people like. Sites are dated and dirty.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management for North America specifically HR and IT. The local site HR business partners (that I have dealt) with have all been great but their management.... I feel sorry for them. IT was okay when we had local IT but the new structure and leadership create inefficiency and more work for the end user.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-12-01
  10. "Overall Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly colleagues - Learning environment - Very HSE conscious (sometimes too much!)

    Cons

    - Poor job security at the specific location I worked at.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-10-25
Found 1117 reviews