Aker Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Aker Solutions Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Aker Solutions CEO Luis Araujo
Luis Araujo
161 Ratings
  1. "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some friendly people, but overall I felt like there weren't enough people there to help challenge and build up those around you.

    Cons

    It wasn't the same company as when I started there. I felt like they were okay with mediocrity.

    Aker Solutions2019-09-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer - Subsea in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people on the coal face are amazingly dedicated and talented. They want to succeed.

    Cons

    Nepotism everywhere you look!! Truly unbelievable. The management seem to want the workers to fail! Bringing in weak management, hiding behind letters after their name and qualifications. They now as a result put more emphasis on these things than talent!!

    Advice to Management

    Clear out engineering management from Snr Manager up. Recognise talent.

    Aker Solutions2019-10-09
  3. "Procurement in purchase activity experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunity and good exposure

    Cons

    I don't have such feedback to share with

    Aker Solutions2019-09-14
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interface Engineer in Kakinada
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great company good team ,

    Cons

    travel , office block needs updating

    Aker Solutions2019-08-29
  5. "Good Company to work for in Subsea Domain in Pune"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Pune
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good exposure to Subsea Domain Travel opportunities Good work life balance

    Cons

    Poor Leadership interested in their pay cheque than team's growth. May be a Good Engineer is wasted by making him poor leader. Lack of vision

    Advice to Management

    Change the Indian Management, bring in fresh ideas. Industry is moving way faster than you.

    Aker Solutions2019-09-12
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Stavanger

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, good management

    Cons

    Low efficiency, bad food in canteen

    Aker Solutions2019-08-09
  7. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HSE Coordinator in Fort McMurray, AB

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Work life balance was great if you want that.

    Cons

    - Terrible management - Wage was low - Took care of easterners and not people our west - I wasn’t looking for work life balance so the job wasn’t good for me

    Aker Solutions2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Advisor in Oslo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions

    Pros

    Prestigious international company, at least in the home country (Norway). Traditionally scored high on attractiveness amongst engineering and business students.

    Cons

    Limited career development opportunities. Low management interest in people development. Lot of middle managers without formal leadership education. Instead they rely upon internal leadership training given by internal resources with very limited formal leadership education.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure leadership training is based on updated scientific proved knowledge. The best way to ensure that is to buy programs from well reputed business schools. It requires well educated leaders on all levels to prepare a company that is so reliant on oil and gas for a sustainable and low carbon future. Your highly qualified engineers could use their knowledge and methods in technology that could contribute to solve the climate change challenges. Invest in your personnel!

    Show More
    Aker Solutions2019-07-29
  9. "Product Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in São José dos Pinhais
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    friendly work environment, very interested industry

    Cons

    No career plan, lack of internal opportunities, very dependent of one client only.

    Aker Solutions2019-07-17
  10. "Good company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lead Project Controls Analyst in Pune

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, learning opportunities

    Cons

    No problem at all NN,..

    Advice to Management

    NN

    Aker Solutions2019-07-18
Found 664 reviews