Aequilibrium Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Aequilibrium Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Aequilibrium CEO Adrian Moise (no image)
Adrian Moise
13 Ratings
  1. "I love my role at AEQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Role 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time

    Pros

    AEQ is truly entrepreneurial. We are striving to be leaders in our field, and going for it. This year we were awarded with many industry awards which signified that we are focusing on the right stuff - really sharpening our craft and hiring the right people.

    Cons

    We are in high growth start up mode. We grew about 500% since I joined. This means growing pains, but I have worked in three start ups and what we are experiencing is typical.

    Advice to Management

    Get really clear on vision, and empower the team to execute. We have the best people in the industry. Be clear on how you are empowering teams - pick a few strategies and watch the team fly.

    Aequilibrium2019-02-20
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Staffing Company, Unfocused Vision, Below Market Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Team Events - Nintendo Switch - Beers on Friday

    Cons

    - Staffing Company: Most people don't work onsite - Well below market pay - Company is cheap, will skimp out on vacation, expenses, and salary. Most developers are using laptops from over 4 years ago. - Extremely high turnover (Around 6 months) - Entire leadership team left last summer - Have not been able to hire CTO in the past 10 months (they don't want to work here). Engineers are left hung out to dry, have... no boss, no raises, poor work conditions. - Unable to secure projects, most employees have nothing to do (layoffs coming soon) - Would not trust previous reviews, are astroturfed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Narrow your vision, focus on what you do well. Stop trying to control everything. Pay market salaries. Ensure employees remain onsite. Get the turnover under control.

    Aequilibrium2019-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A great company with great culture and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time

    Pros

    - a lot of cool project - friendly co-workers - Friday beer - very good company culture

    Cons

    As company quickly growth, office space become tight now. However the good thing is the company already working on finding a new office.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up with the great job!

    Aequilibrium2017-11-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Work Environment With Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Automation Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Great place to work with friendly, funny, and smart people. • Lots of diverse projects. • Flexible management who are down to earth. • It's a small company, so your voice gets heard. • You get the opportunity to play with lots of different tools and technologies. • Things can also get done pretty quickly when you need to, since there aren't layers of bureaucracy and red tape to cut through.

    Cons

    • There is no space to move, people are crammed in like sardines. On the plus side during winter it's relatively warm because of the body heat. • The snacks run out too fast, especially the ice cream. • There is only one bathroom, though it is oddly clean for the most part.

    Advice to Management

    • Developers sometimes get frustrated and overwhelmed by ever changing requirements and demands from clients. Hire more Project Managers who are technically savvy as well as strong communicators to interface with and manage client expectations effectively. • Give everyone 4-8 hours (20% time) every Friday to come up with and work on a project that they're passionate about. The company needs a really good product of... its own that people can feel passionate about and get excited for. Giving them passion project time can incubate these ideas into products for the company.

    Show More
    Aequilibrium2017-11-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Humble, tight-knit and growth-focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Aequilibrium is full of some of the most brilliant people I've had the pleasure working with, but who share a level of humility uncommon to our field. The development teams are built with people with a learning mindset doing their best to check their ego at the door and do what's best to help achieve goals and grow their skills - AEQ has a growth mindset, and those who embody this thrive there. The company knows... that its people are the company, and supporting the growth of individuals as contributors and members of larger project teams is what has lead to its success and intense passion for continuous improvement - Aequilibrium is a client-centred boutique focused on providing clients with functional, high-quality digital products. The team values technical excellence, but above all endeavours to do what's best for clients- it's rare to find development teams that can strike this balance. - The team shares my professional values of integrity, learning and personal growth, solution-focused client service, and humility. I've never felt more at home in any workplace. Aequilibrium are my family at work! - The company's leadership at all levels has team members' interests at heart, and has a strong background building winning teams, providing opportunities for growth and looking out for each other as best they can.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Since Aequilibrium's primary focus is in professional services, teams will work on a number of different projects, and like any consulting or agency work, there are a variety of different types of clients, in which teams have varying degrees of autonomy. Sometimes client projects aren't always ideal. - No extended health/dental coverage other than a health spending account. Hoping to see this change as the... company grows. - You may not always work with the exact technologies that you would prefer to- we prefer to work with a specific set of awesome modern tools, but ultimately build with what fits clients best. - Aequilibrium has seen a period of extremely rapid growth, which has been great for the team but also creates some unique challenges for the team to overcome. I'm excited to see the team continue to develop clear processes for communicating to ensure we're operating as cohesively as possible while maintaining the courage to champion truly Agile processes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in talented and humble people, while building capacity within the team, recognizing opportunity where it exists and supporting future leaders- particularly as the company grows. Stay true to AEQ's origins and core values. Take care to focus on partnerships and clients that align with Aequilibrium's values, and avoid those which may be damaging to the team's growth mindset.

    Aequilibrium2017-10-27
  6. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly skilled team; Good infrastructure; Agile process deep in the company's culture; R&D department; Flexible schedule; Possible remote positions; Possible sponsorship to Canada; Relaxed atmosphere; Food available in the kitchen; Happy hour on site on Fridays;

    Cons

    Space is a bit tight for the size of the staff. But the company is looking for a bigger office.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up with the great job!

    Aequilibrium2017-10-30
  7. "AEQamazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time

    Pros

    I love working at Aequilibrium for the atmosphere that I walk into everyday. I look forward to coming to work and socializing with the entire company, each individual is so charismatic in their own ways. Leadership always has time for you and is very accommodating. Aside from the people, the company itself is very pleasant to work at. You are allowed to have your opinions and thoughts, everything is welcomed. I... highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Need more space in the office.

    Aequilibrium2017-09-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Project-based work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequilibrium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company was trying to implement software using agile best practices to the book.

    Cons

    Most of the work was off-loaded to outsourcing teams in Eastern Europe. Overtime work was almost a requirement.

    Aequilibrium2017-05-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The Best Type of Organized Chaos!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Where do I start? Aequilibrium is currently a fast growing company made up of almost twenty team members. With a small team comes all the perks—we’re a tight-knit group (so much so that we still hang out with one another in the evenings and weekends… willingly)—so there’s definitely that “family” feel. Never before have I had the honour of working with such a talented team. I’m surrounded by the most humble and... driven individuals—the type that challenge you on the daily and push you to become the best version of yourself. This is the place where I’m the exact same person both in and out of the office (crazy quirks and all!). Being a small team, it’s really up to you how you define your role and make an impact on the company. You’ll do well here if you live and breathe the company’s vision and are striving to do whatever it takes to ensure that it becomes a reality. In other words, it’s highly likely you’ll be wearing multiple hats, which I personally love, but it may not be the case for everyone. Deliver results and you’ll be rewarded both personally and professionally. There are weekly team retrospectives with treats, biweekly 1:1’s with members of the leadership team, and monthly team events (e.g. waffle breakfasts, bowling, movie nights). You’re supported in any events, workshops or conferences you’d like to attend and I also enjoy the fact that we’re always celebrating each milestone, whether that be somebody’s birthday, someone getting married or signing a new deal! Oh, we also have cookie butter. Lots of it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a design and software development studio, things are often crazy. There are multiple projects going on at the same time and requirements are constantly changing. We’re doing a lot of neat things, but it would be nice to have more focus. Focus in the sense that you have to build your own process to succeed, there isn’t an existing “system” in place. If you’re looking for a “specialized” job, Aequilibrium isn’t... the place. You’ll only thrive here if you embrace taking on additional responsibilities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire people who will go above and beyond in their role and show true commitment in taking this company to new heights.

    Aequilibrium2016-12-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Optimistic about AEQ's Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aequilibrium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Aequilibrium is a mission-driven company. If you want to succeed, you have to welcome new challenges and be ready to explore and experiment new processes and tools frequently. For me, this is a great fit because I have the freedom to improve upon our existing processes or create new ones, with the support of a team that I respect and admire. The work that we do requires you to stretch your knowledge and your skills... and always adapt to changing requirements in order to solve complex problems and arrive at breakthrough moments. I have seen team members be rewarded for their performance and can confirm that there are opportunities for role rotation and career advancement. Plus employees have flexible work hours, a health spending account, an open-concept office space (to support idea sharing and collaboration), and a kitchen full of Nutella.

    Show More

    Cons

    Every day is different and will challenge you. This can be a negative if you're expecting to settle into a consistent routine and are not ready to continuously learn and take chances to grow professionally. In addition, if you're expecting to simply clock-in and clock-out of the office everyday and not fully engage with the company culture, you won't feel as connected to the strong office culture and the meaningful... projects that we do. Work life balance can suffer as a result of longer hours and unpredictable project demands, but if you're looking for an environment that supports delivery excellence and personal growth, Aequilibrium is for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company is growing fast, so my advice to management would be to ensure that as employee roles and responsibilities change, you continue giving the team the right resources and skills to succeed. I'm very optimistic about the future of Aequilibrium.

    Aequilibrium2016-11-23
Found 16 reviews