Advisory Board Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Advisory Board Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
550 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The work/life balance is the trade off(in 72 reviews)

  • "Entry level positions can feel stagnant at some points, always a lot of change(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company Trying to Make Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, lots of PTO, great work environment

    Cons

    Stale research and is not as competitive as it once was but they are trying to make change.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize making change quicker instead of constant one on one checkins

    Advisory Board2019-12-02
  2. "Reorgs killed the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the autonomy and creativity

    Cons

    when I had 4 bosses in 4 months, I knew it was over.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to stop the reorganizations, but the company got bought out, so...

    Advisory Board2019-12-01
  3. "Nice people; incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice, supportive work environment and good compensation.

    Cons

    Most managers are incompetent and switch jobs frequenty.

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep moving incompetent people around.

    Advisory Board2019-11-17
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Advisory Board part-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    None that can be thought off

    Advisory Board2019-10-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Large Changes Afoot in Structure and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to gain large responsibility early in your career; opportunities to gain management experience relatively early in your career; smart coworkers; interesting work.

    Cons

    The company has become more bureaucratic since it was purchased by UHG and this negatively impacts daily life. There are also large structural changes afoot, so it is worth understanding where you would plug into the organization and how well scoped (or not) your role is.

    Advisory Board2019-10-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Young Culture, Get through the associate role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young culture, incredible office, work life balance

    Cons

    associate pay, associate responsibilities, lack of transparency

    Advice to Management

    You hire a large starting class every year, please invest in them or you will continue to lose your best associates to better companies

    Advisory Board2019-10-08
  7. "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great potential for growth and promotion

    Cons

    Office politics, especially within IT senior leadership

    Advisory Board2019-09-30
  8. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, hardworking, interesting topics

    Cons

    Very long hours, up or out culture

    Advisory Board2019-10-07
  9. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dedicated Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, great people, good benefits

    Cons

    Lots of travel, long hours, lower pay

    Advisory Board2019-09-18
  10. "Great people, but would not recommend as a coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Location is pretty good Work/Life balance There is room for career growth, but not in the coordinator position

    Cons

    Career opportunity/advancement limited in coordinator role. There isn't a whole lot of room to learn about healthcare as the responsibilities have nothing to do with healthcare. Position is advertised as a coordinator, but it essentially a personal assistant position. Pay is very low, especially for a city like DC. You could learn the same amount as an executive assistant/admin assistant and get paid more.... Work is not intellectually stimulating, very tedious tasks. Lots of false promises, stretch projects that are meant to give you more experience are essentially tasks that no one else wants to do. Have to be in role for typically 18 months before any sort of promotion, you have to 'Master' the role to be eligible for one. Constantly runover by other positions in the company and asked to do tasks that no one else wants to do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It looks like the senior staff try to recruit people with bachelors degrees and people with a background in healthcare to do work that does not require a college degree and work that has nothing to do with healthcare. I would advertise the position and clearly outline that the responsibilities are administrative more than anything else so that people who accept the job know what they are getting into. I would... also try and have the coordinators to more tasks related to healthcare. I felt like I knew more about healthcare coming out of college than I did after my experience here which is ultimately one of the reasons I decided to leave. I wasn't even given the courtesy of an exit interview which pretty much details how much they cared about my opinion on the position and the role itself.

    Show More
    Advisory Board2019-09-30
Found 953 reviews