Advisory Board Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Advisory Board Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO and Director Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
550 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pretty good, good learning experience

    Cons

    none. its a good place to work

    Advisory Board2020-01-21
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Associate in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, very young fun company where everyone is passionate about the work

    Cons

    little opportunity for upwards mobility if you start in an entry level position

    Advisory Board2019-12-20
  3. "Great research organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best possible way to learn both concepts and real-world facts about how the US health care delivery system and market work; terrific colleagues; supportive management and team-based culture

    Cons

    Lots of change and some uncertainty as the business works to chart a course as an Optum subsidiary

    Advisory Board2019-12-14
  4. "Company Trying to Make Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, lots of PTO, great work environment

    Cons

    Stale research and is not as competitive as it once was but they are trying to make change.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize making change quicker instead of constant one on one checkins

    Advisory Board2019-12-02
  5. "Reorgs killed the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the autonomy and creativity

    Cons

    when I had 4 bosses in 4 months, I knew it was over.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to stop the reorganizations, but the company got bought out, so...

    Advisory Board2019-12-01
  6. "Nice people; incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice, supportive work environment and good compensation.

    Cons

    Most managers are incompetent and switch jobs frequenty.

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep moving incompetent people around.

    Advisory Board2019-11-17
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Advisory Board part-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    None that can be thought off

    Advisory Board2019-10-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Large Changes Afoot in Structure and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to gain large responsibility early in your career; opportunities to gain management experience relatively early in your career; smart coworkers; interesting work.

    Cons

    The company has become more bureaucratic since it was purchased by UHG and this negatively impacts daily life. There are also large structural changes afoot, so it is worth understanding where you would plug into the organization and how well scoped (or not) your role is.

    Advisory Board2019-10-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Young Culture, Get through the associate role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young culture, incredible office, work life balance

    Cons

    associate pay, associate responsibilities, lack of transparency

    Advice to Management

    You hire a large starting class every year, please invest in them or you will continue to lose your best associates to better companies

    Advisory Board2019-10-08
  10. "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great potential for growth and promotion

    Cons

    Office politics, especially within IT senior leadership

    Advisory Board2019-09-30
Found 954 reviews