Advance Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Advance Financial Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Advance Financial CEO Tina Hodges
Tina Hodges
247 Ratings
  1. "Great for advancement, not much work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. If you work hard and are a valuable employee, there are so many ways to move up either into management or into the corporate office. Just know this can take years, but definitely is possible! 2. I liked my manager and upper management. 3. The company pays you to volunteer for 40 hours in the year. They do care about charity work. 4. The starting pay is great. Ask for the maximum.

    Cons

    1. The insurance is free, but it isn't that great. Very high deductible. 2. 24/7 means, 24/7. You will have to work some holidays, and even as a daytime teller will have to work til 11pm or midnight. Depending on your manager, all your shifts may be like that. 3. I found that the company was nit-picky over being a couple minutes late sometimes, but employees who called out continuously were not punished or held... accountable. 4. Some days you work at 7 am to 4 pm, sometimes you work 3:30 pm to midnight. Hard to have a work/life balance. 5. This kind of establishment attracts a rough crowd regardless of location. Yes, you are safe behind the safety glass - doesn't mean creeps do not constantly come in or act weird. 6. Not a bad job if you don't mind working all the time and don't have much happening outside of work. Also worth it if you plan to move up in the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close on holidays. Hard to promote yourselves for instilling a work/life balance when you are open every holiday and make employees work. Offer more vacation days. This is not a traditional retail job. Stores should be able to give employees set schedules, and let employees trade shifts.

    Advance Financial2019-03-06
  2. "24/7"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Columbia, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    company starts off with great pay and offers great benefits. No college degree required

    Cons

    does not have set schedule. will be expected to work any and all shifts

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better

    Advance Financial2019-03-19
  3. Helpful (3)

    "It's good pay but hard hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits staff is nice at some stores.

    Cons

    You will not get a bounce even if you are the top store in company. Corporate does not care about stores outside of Nashville. Also the hours are 7-4, 3:30 -12, or 9:30 to 8 unless you get lucky and get a mid shift for 10-7. No real way to move up in the company at all only seen a handful of people move up in to a manager position in years.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management listen to the CSRs that actually do the work and stop focusing on things that don't matter like if we highlighted something or if we got a customer to verify the email.

    Advance Financial2019-02-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative/Teller in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, flexible schedules, fantastic benefits, company cares for you!

    Cons

    Not always staffed. Not always recognized for the hard work you do. Somewhat unrealistic expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Make our goals more realistic. Make the raises more feasible.

    Advance Financial2018-12-06
  5. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Very positive workplace, effective and compassionate management. Corp office has on site free gym, ergonomics, food truck friday and outside food service Mon-Fri. Very inclusive workplace

    Cons

    Parking is free but can be tough sometimes.

    Advance Financial2018-12-06
  6. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company with a lot of growth and really value their employees!

    Cons

    There isn’t any downside of working for this company that I’ve noticed yet! It took a while to make the move to Advance Financial and I’m so happy I did!

    Advance Financial2018-11-18
  7. "CRS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay, great health benefits; paid vacations

    Cons

    Long Hours , Overnight shift, no balance

    Advance Financial2018-11-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard/Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and corporate culture. Innovative, focused, determined to be the best in the industry. Fun corporate events, welcoming environment and a growing company.

    Cons

    Expect to work hard, be challenged and have to develop your inner salesperson

    Advice to Management

    Provide additional written procedures, training and guidelines for the online group.

    Advance Financial2018-11-02
  9. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, they care about the employees, company paid health care, great pay.

    Cons

    I don't have any issues so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Advance Financial2018-11-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Customer Service Representative shows good values in an industry where values are at best in a grey area."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good immediate coworkers. Clear metrics for the most part.

    Cons

    Do not offer consistent overtime. Also, Yes-men are highly favored in management. If you like to voice your opinion and it differs from the ‘hire ups’, you might not stay long. Many hire up managers are puppets unfortunately. Merit is not the metric used to move up. Must make friends with the right people. Although, this is the case in many jobs now days, it is unfortunate that this employer goes by that. Also, it... is very difficult to sell a product that you know can negatively affect customers financially in the long run due to high interest rates. I realize that if used correctly the loan that this company offers can be beneficial to some. Unfortunately, most customers do not repay the loan within a short period of time and so eventually file for bankruptcy as a result.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    View this as a stepping stone to get to a good company that values intelligence/drive rather than whoever is willing to be a yes-man. Your empathy well for humanity is likely to run dry if you stay long.

    Advance Financial2018-10-27
Found 426 reviews