Admiral Group Reviews in Halifax, NS | Glassdoor.ie

Admiral Group Halifax Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Admiral Group Group CEO David Stevens
David Stevens
8 Ratings
  1. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CCR in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic workplace, great benefits, healthy workplace culture, room for upward mobility. Plenty of performance incentives, share schemes, and overtime options.

    Cons

    Can be stressful, base pay somewhat low.

    Admiral Group2019-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Salary is frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, gym membership, hours, location

    Cons

    everything else-- working environment, leadership

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2019-09-10

    Admiral Group Response

    November 12, 2019Digital Recruitment Officer

    Hi. We really appreciate you sharing your honest feedback. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed some of popular staff benefits. We pride ourselves on an open and honest working environment, so it's unusual to hear that your experience was otherwise, and I'm sorry for this. If you'd like to share further information on this, please get in touch with me in confidence - Linzi.Mullane3@admiralgroup.co.uk. Your feedback is important to us. Linzi

    Continue reading
  3. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work when you start a career

    Cons

    Its a great place to work, salary not competitive

    Admiral Group2019-04-01

    Admiral Group Response

    April 16, 2019

    Hi. Thanks for leaving a review. It's nice to hear that you think its a good place to start your career. We have lots of internal opportunities for staff to apply for roles which interest them as well. So if there's another area of the business you're interested in, I'd recommend booking time in with that area :-) Linzi

    Continue reading
  4. "sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good vibe good people good benefits

    Cons

    easy work , easy money, easy relationship

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2018-08-28
  5. "Customer care representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s amazing the over times hours are fantastic, everyone is super friendly, they really support and work with you, teachers during induction we’re awesome! And they do so much for the staff, handing out treats and having team outing parties, bringing in lunch for us every month, fresh fruit free for staff daily. Free healthy snacks on Fridays! Weekend breakfast! Free taxi chits for early weekend shifts. Discounted bus passes, benefits start from day 1. Stable full time hours and 6 weeks of holiday pay!

    Cons

    Phone job, some rude customers - totally with it-tough!

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2018-08-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Define true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Renewal Specialist in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cult like indoctrination into working for the company so not a pro but many think it is

    Cons

    Abuse abuse and more abuse

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2018-03-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales CCR in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Daytime shifts; advancement and personal development opportunities; lots of training; free fruit every day; yoga and massage on site; lots of free food; awesome parties; rewards for hard form; regular recognition and celebration of successes; lots of coaching, positive & constructive feedback; become an Admiral shareholder; rewards for length of service; incentives for high performance.

    Cons

    Early morning shifts (6 am) can be rough if you're not a morning person; steep learning curve to overcome at the start; constant change that you need to be resilient for; if you're not ready to work for the incentive the base wage is not huge.

    Admiral Group2017-07-25

    Admiral Group Response

    December 7, 2017Digital Recruitment Executive

    Dear Current Employee, We’re thrilled that you enjoy the entrepreneurial and fun culture of Admiral and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Kind Regards, Amy

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Underwriter in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group

    Pros

    Lots of potential to earn money with bonuses. Great benefits package. Great people to work with. Lots of fun and growth. Also free shares after 3 years of employment!

    Cons

    None except the pay doesn't seem to compare with other insurance companies locally. Nothing really bad to say about this company.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2017-02-09

    Admiral Group Response

    May 4, 2017

    Dear Current Employee, we're thrilled to hear that you enjoy working here and are happy with the benefits we offer and the people you work with. We wish you all the best for your future career with us.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "They tell you that the frontline staff are the most important asset to the company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Employee Share Scheme/Dividends -Fresh Fruit Daily -Lots of vacation time + accrued time

    Cons

    -Incredibly disparate incentive structure purportedly based on how difficult a given employee's skillset is. The difference in incentive caps are *not* proportional. -Significant cutbacks to medical/extended health benefits as of August 1, 2016 with only a few weeks' notice but higher premiums -Major lack of flexibility with regards to scheduling and allowances for vacation/accrued time -A significant amount of middle-managment apathy getting blamed on staff by upper management -Advancement is *very* nepotistic. Emphasis on sycophants over skilled candidates. -Salaries are not competitive, changes to payscale do not reflect inflation -6am Weekend shifts - for some of us this means getting up as early as 4:00am for a job which is normally 8:30-5.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2016-09-17

    Admiral Group Response

    May 4, 2017

    Dear Current Employee, we're sorry to hear that you are unhappy working for our Canadian office. Please feel free to speak to someone in PS (either locally, or call us in HQ) to discuss your concerns. We operate a very flat hierarchy and our customers are our most important asset, so we reward those who consistently deliver the best in customer service combined with other relevant metrics for their department. If there are any problems, then please see your line manager or somebody in PS, who will be more than happy to assist, as we want everyone to thrive in their roles and be happy to work with us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Meh, not much to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Halifax, NS

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with, job is OK when you get to a point where people leave you alone to do you job. Depends what manager you get really.

    Cons

    too much meddling by managers. They need to let people work. small people who blame everyone else for their own short comings. Pressure tactics suck. Micromanagement nightmare.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2016-05-09
Found 14 reviews