Accord Group Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 of over 77 reviews

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Accord Group CEO Dustin Doll (no image)
Dustin Doll
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Leadership Team is great and always looking for ways to improve processes and customer/employee experience(in 7 reviews)

  • "The Accord Group is a company that has proven to truly care for all of their employees(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Takes hard work to be the best or leader in anything and make over 6 figures(in 4 reviews)

  • "Door to Door sales not for everyone(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Ok company

      Jan 14, 2022 - Construction Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Allot of freedom with this job. Chances to meet new people daily and help allot of them move on from a life changing event.

      Cons

      Pay, job scope accuracy. Allot of travel time as well.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Seek employment elsewhere

      Dec 28, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You make your own schedule!

      Cons

      This review has been a long time coming…now that I have been removed from the experience for over a year now, I think I have gotten over the experience enough to write about it. First things first, from what I was told there have been a lot of changes since I left but I can only review my personal experience. With that said… Dustin Doll is the CEO. I have had minimal but meaningful interactions with him. This isn’t a con because he seemed so passionate and optimistic about the company that it made me hopeful. One of the core values that he emphasizes in his company is integrity and one of my most appalling realizations was that his managers/direct reports and some of my peers were totally lacking in integrity. That was my greatest disappointment. If you have integrity this is not the place for you. At all. You will actually be made to feel out of place if you have any integrity. If you are looking for a job with even a modicum of professionalism and civility, this is not the place for you. I was horrified at how unprofessional everything was. From the processes in general-training, sales, day of build activities, to communication, and general office culture. Don’t expect deadlines to be honored. Don’t expect things to be done in a timely fashion. Don’t expect management to hold themselves accountable for their mistakes. With this job, you get paid when your customer pays you. It was not at all unusual to have a simple problem repair go unattended for MONTHS therefore delaying your pay. Management always had an excuse of why they didn’t or couldn’t dispatch anyone to resolve the repair. It was embarrassing in terms of how it makes you look to your customers. You won’t have access to basic needs to run your business-like printing paper. Printing paper would be locked up to prevent people from “stealing”. Super toxic office culture with certain employees spreading their toxicity-temper tantrums, outbursts, yelling and berating other project managers and office members, throwing things at people were tolerated. It made for general unease in the office and felt unsafe at times. Horrifically sexist comments made during team meetings referring to women in very offensive terms, to racist jokes in work text messages…this is not the place to be a minority and/or a woman. I was given the feedback that while my concerns are valid, it upsets others as that is just the way things are. Disgusting. If you are looking to make money, I almost lost my shirt doing this job. I made less than $20k my first year and I did the company minimum of $400k in sales. There are some who make a lot of money but there is a high probability that you won’t even make enough to pay your cell phone bill each month. Be wary. Again, that was back in 2019. Hopefully this has changed and the company has made adjustments to their pay structure. I can’t say that management was incompetent but they were just unresponsive and didn’t seem concerned with actually managing. I have never experienced such a lack of support from management. As a new person who had no knowledge of roofs aside from being able to identify one, it was a super steep learning curve in which I lost a lot of potential revenue because I didn’t know what I was doing and thought I had support that wasn’t there. Example-I made $19 commission on a roof. I had no idea why I made so little and was totally perplexed. I spoke to my manager and he merely said, “that was an expensive project.” Why??? What made this project expensive? What could I have done differently to make more than $19? I had a build one weekend and needed a last minute purchase from Loews and since I was broke, I needed the company card. My manager had his phone turned off as weekends were “family time”. One of my peers called me and gave me the same feedback that everyone always had: Don’t ask him for any help. You can’t rely on him at all. I learned that the hard way. Numerous times. There are many other examples but this was just mind blowing as it is an expectation that we work weekends, so I had to show you how far the hypocrisy goes. The favoritism was just egregious. Meritocracy was overruled by nepotism and it set a really bad precedent to us newbies and the more seasoned employees who weren’t company favorites. I did two houses on a cul de sac and I was the only project manager working in this small community only to find out that the neighbor called the number on the sign in one of my customer’s yard and the lead was given to another project manager. I was confused when the homeowner approached me asking why no one showed up as I didn’t even know he called the office. It was unprofessional and embarrassing. When I left and had an interview for my next job they very conveniently asked me, “When was the last time you were in a challenging work environment?” Thank you, Accord Group for helping me nail that interview.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Though it is a lofty one, our mission is to create positively remarkable experiences for teammates and customers! It is clear from your review here that we did not live up to our mission in regard to your experience with us. We have been improvising and adapting weekly, monthly and even company wide in order to overcome real challenges that we face in delivering on our mission of creating positively remarkable experiences to both teammate employees and to our customers. Frankly, this is one of the things I dislike most about anonymous reviews online. We’d love to be able to reply with more specificity to your concerns to show you our commitment to our mission. Also, If we understood who left this review, we could provide relevant information that might provide context/another side to these accusations that could add context to the situation you are referring to. Nonetheless, we are glad to hear you are doing well, and we appreciate the feedback. Though this feedback is not fun to hear, it motivates us to continue to improvise, adapt and overcome in order to better deliver on our mission to create positively remarkable experiences for all teammates! Please feel free to reach out directly to me to provide more context or if there is anything you need. Sincerely, Dustin

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If your not MGMT, you don’t matter

      Nov 17, 2021 - Billing Specialist in Lees Summit, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Waited to see if there were pros, didn’t see any. 1 of many reasons for leaving.

      Cons

      Extremely low pay(even if you have experience) , the position itself was very tedious and training was minimal. Managers will argue with each other right in front of you and it’s uncomfortable. It’s very corporate driven so your work ethic WILL be overlooked.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      We regret that you were disappointed with your experience while working here. As you know, our mission is to provide positively remarkable experiences. Although admittedly it is a lofty goal and likely we will not be able to accomplish it with every interaction, with every person every time, we are still passionate about doing everything within our power to accomplish this mission. I encourage you to call me or email me directly at wecare@roofally.com and we will talk through it. It would be helpful to have more details on the things you've mentioned. Without them it's very difficult to address these issues and we both share a common goal of wanting to ensure they're addressed. I hope you will contact me soon. Sincerely, Dustin Doll, CEO

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Run

      Nov 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They're too busy trying to figure out what they're doing to notice what you're doing.

      Cons

      They gathered everyone in a small room (during covid) then randomly tapped people on the shoulders to pull our. Those people were then fired. They said it wasn't personal, just business.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Our mission is to provide positively remarkable experiences. Although admittedly it is a lofty goal and likely we will not be able to accomplish it with every interaction or with every person every time, we are still passionate about doing everything within our power to accomplish this mission. We recently had to reduce our workforce. After 20 months of a national pandemic we feel fortunate that we were able to hold off for so long. Difficult decisions are not ones that are taken lightly. Sometimes it’s easy to think that there isn’t a real person, real families with good intentions behind a company. In this case we have the best of intentions and want to do our best to understand your perspective. I encourage you to call me or email me directly at wecare@roofally.com and we will talk through it. We're open to the feedback. Sincerely, Dustin Doll, CEO

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      👎

      Nov 4, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      zero, none, don’t work here

      Cons

      So for the most part, I stayed pretty quiet about my recent work changes & financial issues around it. I worked for Accord Group/DHI Roofing for over 8 years. I started with them in 2013 & from that point, moved around all over the country with them selling & managing exterior restoration projects. Due to some pretty major changes within the structure of the organization, and some major issues with my pay not only being cut in half, but even the shorted pay not coming through in a timely manner…I finally blew up about it back in July & was ”terminated”. My commission pay still owed to me was over $40k. At the point I left, I was the oldest, most experienced rep in the company still left. All the other guys I worked with for all those years had already left due to all the changes. The owner assured me upon my departure after threats of getting a lawyer involved, that they would “honor their contractual obligations as they always do”. Well here we are 4 months later, and not a peep from any of my old higher-up’s about any money coming, any plan, any reasoning, any update, anyTHING. So I guess you could imagine how financially straining it’s been on me when I’m short over $40k that should have been in my account. And having to start over with a new company to build up business again to just try & get by in the meantime. So at this point, I’m done respecting Mr. Dustin Doll’s wishes to have a “peaceful departure”. You’ve shown me enough that you could care less about how I feed myself & my children. So I’m gonna do what I have to do at this point.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      As you know from your many years of service, our mission is to provide positively remarkable experiences. Although admittedly it is a lofty goal and likely we will not be able to accomplish with every interaction with every person every time, we are still passionate about doing everything within our power to accomplish this mission. We have found that many times a lack of communication typically is the foundation for the shortcoming we have in creating remarkable experiences. Sometimes it’s easy to think that there isn’t a real person, real families with good intentions behind a company. In this case we have the best of intentions want to do our best to understand your perspective to see if we can find a resolution. We've attempted to talk with you a couple times about this and we're willing to keep trying. I encourage you to call me or email me directly at wecare@roofally.com and we will talk through it. Sincerely, Dustin Doll, CEO

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 21, 2021 - Mid Level Management in Lees Summit, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is very fast paced and implemented quickly!

      Cons

      Doing too much at one time can burn out employees. Also, pay for entry level positions is too low for the new market in 2021.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Thank you for your feedback! We too want to make sure we're competitive in our pay and benefits. We are currently interviewing outside compensation experts to help us develop a top notch compensation plan. It will take some time but we know it will be worth it! Kelly Chamberlain Director of Talent and HR

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Freedom within the Framework

      Aug 14, 2021 - Project Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of freedom, great people that care about your success, support systems and training to ensure success, and the flexibility to live life.

      Cons

      Lots of transition and turnover as people are "sold" on the job instead of them naturally buying in.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Thank you for submitting your feedback, we genuinely appreciate it. We know the company restructure has been difficult and it is impacting many individuals. We're working through our new processes diligently, every day, and have dedicated teammates, such as yourself, trying, failing, learning and trying again to ensure we get it right. We ask for your patience and grace while we get right. Because we will get it right! If you have suggestions for recruiting please get in touch with our recruiting team. We're always open for feedback and suggestions. It doesn't sound like you had a good experience so we're open to learning what we can do better. Thank you for all that you do!

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a place a want to be at long term

      Aug 21, 2021 - Administration Assistant in Lees Summit, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Human resources have very kind and understanding

      Cons

      They dont want to give raises joke about hiring people for cheap. They push large amounts of work on you and never say please or thank you. Not a friendly admin department.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Thank you for submitting your feedback to us. It is difficult to address your concerns with such little detail and not knowing who you are but there is always an open door to discuss concerns if you'd like to do that. Please feel free to reach out to via workchat, email or come by my office to talk. Kelly Chamberlain Director of Talent and HR

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 7, 2021 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership Team is great and always looking for ways to improve processes and customer/employee experience.

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Thank you for your feedback! We love hearing from individuals who enjoy working for us. Appreciate all that you do!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      8 years in and loving it

      Jul 1, 2021 - Division Director in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upward mobility, rewards leadership skills, provides coaching and development, teamwork environment and accountability.

      Cons

      Construction industry challenges, insurance restoration is an ever changing machine that requires adaptability and patience. Structures take development time and patience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Accord Group Response

      Manager

      Thank you for your review. We agree that the industry is having challenges right now. Thank you for sticking with it and for sticking with us as we restructure our company to grow.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Accord Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Accord Group? Share Your Experiences

    Accord Group logo
    or