Absolute Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Absolute Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Absolute Chief Executive Officer Christy Wyatt
Christy Wyatt
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "C-level executives threaten and force employees(in 8 reviews)

  • "A lot of pressure from senior management, especially quarter end(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people around you. Typical yearly sales meeting held on resorts in Canada.

    Cons

    For a company so small, it lives in its own way in times of delivering executable paperwork to customers for purchase. Also, is heavily reliant on OEM and partner to assist sales process. Poor career growth. Poor culture: work life balance, work from home, you will be treated like a number, and looked at sideways if any leadership knows you wish to or took vacation. Horrible end of quarter processes. Leadership is designed to lead through fear over enablement.

    Absolute2020-01-15
  2. "Small company but great network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule depending on manager

    Cons

    Lack of diversity and culture

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-12-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great teammates but leadership lacks proper vision and sometimes experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, great company culture and team mates, good perks and benefits

    Cons

    Management and leadership team lacks long term vision and goals at times. Leadership team are all over the place - not sure if it’s feasible to have so many Chief officers, executives who have to be flown in and beat their accommodations etc. Most of the time you won’t find them at the office. Why not hire leaders locally? Too many hirings and firings! Management not always open to feedback or open to changes internally. Can be difficult to work with HR or management.

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-12-21
  4. "Great job with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Helpdesk Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The people you work with are very great -Everyone seems to be willing to help -Getting coverage for time off is not hard -Pushes you to work more and more -Great benefits (Health) -Work life Balance is great -Management team is very helpful and encourages you to keep working hard

    Cons

    None that I can complain about

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-12-05
  5. "All good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, good technology

    Cons

    Some churn, could promote more internally

    Absolute2019-11-16
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Heed the cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Group in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Lots to learn for people just starting out in their careers -Good location if you take public transit in Vancouver -Supportive environment for co-op students -Free food (Monthly pizza, weekly fruit and cookies) and beverages (pop, juice, coffee, water, various types of milk) -Some initiative to bring employees working on three separate floors together (monthly beers in the office, regular social activities organised by the social committee) -Company-branded swag regularly given out

    Cons

    General -Half the leadership team has been there for less than half a year (CEO came on board a year ago and has built a new team with many based in the US) -75% of HR team has been at Absolute for less than a year -Poor execution on company-wide tech initiatives (either they fail -- videoconferencing in meeting rooms -- or employees are not on board -- channels on Slack) -Constantly hear about how great the perks were "a few years ago" -Bonus % vary among departments and even within the same department -Get 4 weeks of vacation after 10 years of service -Receive an engraved pen after 5 years of service Development -Expect to work extra hours (but don't complain) and receive little appreciation -Morale is low: at least one person leaves every month and many are looking to leave; management realises that attrition is a problem -Management admits that compensation is not competitive -Dev environments are down regularly but don't complain that you can't get work done "because it's like that for everyone" -Although the company is over 25 years old, it's like working for a startup (disorganised, unfocussed, process and deadlines are ignored) -Software release = adding a lot to a plan and then not really delivering anything customer-facing from the plan -Product managers average about 3 years of experience and are still unfamiliar with the product -Internal communication is poor (wiki is full of old information or "TBD", never announce when an employee visits, joins the company, or leaves the company. In fact, Financial Post gets updates sooner than employees) -Little investment in career growth for employees (internally and externally) and managers do not participate in mentorship -Management values experience in tools over industry experience -Toxic, cliquey environment where there is a lot of gossiping about current or previous colleagues and also badmouthing colleagues (really unprofessional to see it coming from a manager at team meetings) -Raises are not based on merit but are how your manager feels about you -Bonuses are not based on SMART goals (those are not even created) but how your manager feels about you Documentation team -there is an archaic view in development that technical writers specialise only in creating PDFs and editing others' writing -lack of leadership for the team -documentation is not part of the agile process and team is left to scramble right before a release -little teamwork -no process for writers working together to deliver online help -online help project is a mess to work with because it was not created by someone with online help, HTML, or CSS experience -- was a PDF dumped into online help output, and I would not have taken the job had I seen the source project first

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-11-28
  7. "We are Gladiators of Persistence, Innovators of Resilience. Architects of Intelligence."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has amazing history and technology that is meeting the market where it is today. CEO is a strong leader who is challenging teams to be customer-centric and innovation obsessed. It's a journey.

    Cons

    There's always growing pains during transformation.

    Absolute2019-08-25
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolute best part of the job is the people. Leadership team believes in the groups' ability to achieve great results.

    Cons

    Because of significant growth, lack of available rooms to book for meetings

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Ranks lowest for organizations I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructional Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people on the ground in my area, but looking for leadership and strategy.

    Cons

    No investment in customer training and infrastructure. Product features and updates kept getting kicked down the road. I felt my input on strategy and ideas were not considered. I was constantly asking for projects to work on. Often bored or I was asked to do grunt work. In the year I was there, my manager never made an effort to meet with me. Never experienced this before.

    Absolute2019-08-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Experience varies by department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Individual Contributor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pizza on the first Friday of the month. Free pop and juice. Great view.

    Cons

    No parking or transit subsidy, pay is below market, hours are bad.

    Absolute2019-08-11
Found 160 reviews