Abebooks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Abebooks Reviews

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Abebooks CEO  Arkady Vitrouk (no image)
Arkady Vitrouk
5 Ratings
  1. "Manager Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abebooks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment Excellent team Part of Amazon Feeling of ownership In general is a great place to work, the location is also enviable in beautiful Victoria, BC

    Cons

    Things could move faster There is not a lot of space to grow The company is not huge and it has shrunk since I first joined, probably looking for efficiencies between the company and Amazon

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good job! You are a good team, you care about people and you try to be fair and keep everyone happy. Had a good time at Abebooks,

    Abebooks2015-08-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting, fast-paced workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abebooks full-time

    Pros

    great team and atmosphere, lots of opportunities

    Cons

    cross-office communication needs work, otherwise great

    Abebooks2018-08-06
  3. "Good working environment. Excellent to learn and upgrade your skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abebooks full-time

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere and people. Share and gain knowledge and a lot more. Space too less to describe.

    Cons

    Nothing bad as of now.

    Abebooks2019-12-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great international experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Abebooks full-time

    Pros

    The team was amazing, it was a pleasure to get to work in the morning. I appreciate the focus on personal development, even though the system was not perfect.

    Cons

    There were inequalities in salary.

    Abebooks2019-03-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging, fast-paced environment with room to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abebooks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    AbeBooks is full of smart people across the tech and business sides of the company and working with them is fun and challenging. As an Amazon subsidiary, we have access to one of the world's most impressive companies for knowledge sharing, training, and career opportunities. RSU compensation is unbeatable in the Victoria job market.

    Cons

    Limited resources. Like most companies, there is an endless list of things we want to do. Getting the resources to get them done can be a challenge but we have great processes in place to help us prioritize projects and get as much done as possible with the resources we have. Getting creative and bit scrappy to get things out the door can be a fun challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to learn from employees, seek diverse perspectives, and value inclusion.

    Abebooks2019-02-22
  6. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Abebooks

    Pros

    good culture and well stocked kitchen

    Cons

    Not much of a tech atmosphere

    Abebooks2018-11-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abebooks full-time

    Pros

    Coorporate benefits - Startup environment balance.

    Cons

    Forced to follow Amazon processes, that don´t fit with medium sized company.

    Abebooks2018-10-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Hypocrisy-filled "Amazon TECH Company" driven by a bunch of white men"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDE2 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Abebooks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent office, ok salary, showers in office

    Cons

    Not a "tech company" Pushes "...an Amazon company" a ton but actually receives no benefits from being an Amazon subsidiary Limited opportunity for growth Despite having a D&I (Diversity and Inclusion) team, upper management is comprised of 100% white male in their mid-30s to 50s Hidden factors in contract - did you know that if you leave within 2 years you need to pay back your signing bonus? Come on... Upper management has a habit of favouritism and doing "off-sites" essentially creating a small team that's impossible to penetrate. No "AbeBooks" culture to speak of. HR is full of women.

    Show More
    Abebooks2017-11-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Software Development Engineer co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abebooks

    Pros

    You'll be surrounded by some extremely intelligent people who really know what they're doing. These are world class people who will make you a better engineer.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work you do feels a little insignificant due to the sheer size of the application code.

    Abebooks2017-10-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging and interesting tech job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Abebooks full-time

    Pros

    - Talented engineering team - Fun events, relaxed atmosphere - Opportunity to contribute to book culture worldwide - Customer focused - Challenging tech problems to solve - Autonomy + Ownership - A lot of flexibility for work/life balance

    Cons

    - Some large policy-driven tech projects

    Abebooks2017-08-15
Found 23 reviews