AbbVie Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

AbbVie Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
72%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
AbbVie Chairman & CEO   Richard A. Gonzalez
Richard A. Gonzalez
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance can be skewed(in 86 reviews)

  • "I seriously cannot think of any negatives seeing that my last job was in the military which demanded long hours and was non-collaborative(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Sligo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really good culture, great benefits and very innovative environment

    Cons

    none, defintiely Great Place to Work!

    AbbVie2019-03-01
  2. "AbbVie Cork a busy plant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrigtwohill
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of new products being made and coming down the line. Not like most pharma plants. Great to be busy. I settled in quickly, great induction and up and running quickly. Lots of opportunities if you want to progress.

    Cons

    None really there’s a great future hear.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the site growing. Keep the expansion going.

    AbbVie2019-01-22
  3. "qc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Analyst in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AbbVie full-time

    Pros

    very good company to work in

    Cons

    good in every departments no cons at all

    Advice to Management

    nothing at all

    AbbVie2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "discrimination and nepotism!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AbbVie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relatively good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    no work life balance, strong nepotism and discrimination!

    Advice to Management

    change management and hr in Ireland!

    AbbVie2019-05-21
  5. Helpful (5)

    "has great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    QC Laboratory Analyst in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie for less than a year

    Pros

    Shift allowance Overtime pay Teamwork is good

    Cons

    Rarely get out of work on time Very disorganised Lack of communication

    Advice to Management

    Work on cons

    AbbVie2017-01-16
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Cork Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people very willing to help each other. Benefits Ok. Monthly Friday treat. Big emphasis on Health and Safety. Subsidised canteen with great chef.

    Cons

    Very lean site under resourced in many areas. Run like a generic Pharma company where every thing is about lower cost. Work life balance is not good. High staff turnover.

    AbbVie2016-05-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Abbvie sligo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tobercurry
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AbbVie

    Pros

    Good money and benefits. Most staff pleasant and approachable.

    Cons

    Difficult shift. A lot of politics.

    AbbVie2015-10-29
  8. "Strong Technical Vision - Finally cleaning house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing company and team with a strong culture changes in Infrastructure from the new leadership with a strong technical vision (from Associate Director and Up) - with a bias to action. The VP's and Sr. D's all want to see the teams thrive and we are seeing recognition for our work. We are finally getting rid of some of the dead weight - and driving new culture and architectures like SD-WAN, CNF and Data. A number of promotions in EA & Engineering of strong technologists who put the patient at the center of what we do - and this past year the new management is finally cleaning out the deadweight who have held us back for years. We are building a whole new platform with some amazing new technologies and the chief technologists 3 year strategy will drive more automation and giving us time to work with the new tech (instead of relying on consultants). Amazing emerging technology pipeline that will revolutionize IT @ AbbVie.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the group is having a hard time with 2019 change (mainly those that should be worried) but I admit I was nervous too. That said the new 2019 leadership team in the combined ea/tech/infra group is helping drive through change and being empathic / respectful to everyone's needs giving everyone a chance. The fact is some people aren't making the "cut" and some house cleaning is happening. People are worried about RIF's with Allergan and the implementation of Automation, but there is so much work ahead that we need to trust leadership has our backs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't shy away from challenging the status quo, you are making a difference driving benefits to our patients - in times of change people fear the worst and hope for the best - look past it and drive with your strong technical leadership team who cares about the people. Don't let us fall back into the old ways. BTW Make sure we continue to have the employee engineers / architects do the new stuff learning from the consultants. Most of us couldn't be prouder to be part of BTS and Infra/TechDev.

    Show More
    AbbVie2020-01-11
  9. "Culture going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Director in Mettawa, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Risk averse so decisions are difficult to obtain. Resourcing a challenge as company not willing to ‘spend money to make money’. Alpha dominance and disrespect considered ‘good leadership’ and this is getting worse .

    Advice to Management

    Have another look at your own behaviors and how managers are living them.

    AbbVie2019-12-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Your experience is dependent on the department you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Worcester, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are quite impressive, including pension. The building is evolving and modernizing. There are several long-term employees who started at Abbott who stayed on when Abbvie became independent. The level of science is high, resulting in getting much needed products to patients. Very diverse work force and many opportunities for all. Salaries align with fair market value in the state.

    Cons

    It depends on what group you are in to determine the workload that is expected of you. Other reviews claim a good work/life balance while my experience and that of colleagues proves otherwise. Working at home after hours and weekends is necessary to meet deadlines. I heard of at least one employee who routinely stays until 1:00 AM to complete their work while another co-worker claimed they are working much harder than they did in a academic job, which are notoriously demanding. Scientists conduct experiments but don't have time to document them in the electronic notebook. The salary is good but you will work for it at the expense of personal time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is not monolithic. Before accepting a job at Abbvie, do your research on the group where you will be working.

    AbbVie2019-12-15
Found 7 reviews