AXA XL Underwriting Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Underwriting Assistant

AXA XL Underwriting Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
98%
Recommend to a Friend
AXA XL President Greg Hendrick
Greg Hendrick
0 Ratings
  1. "Good environment and pay/benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at AXA XL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office Environment is very positive and friendly, pay and benefits are also very good

    Cons

    Check with other employees to see department dynamic before starting

    AXA XL2019-08-06
  2. "Assistant Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Underwriter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AXA XL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Degree of Autonomy

    Cons

    Can be frustrating in moving up through levels

    AXA XL2019-01-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Underwriting assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AXA XL full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment with plenty of inner office social events

    Cons

    Remote training by someone that was never in the office and was a horrible trainer/teacher of a new process. No performance reviews even when requested and promised to be given to know work status.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to your employees and actually have three person that is going to train people be someone I the same office, who isn't an arrogant idiot. Don't punish your employees for telling the truth.

    AXA XL2018-11-16
  4. "Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AXA XL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Perks Prestigue Lean structure Access to managent

    Cons

    Office politics Egos Global company so overseas decisions influence Australia greatly

    Advice to Management

    Transparency

    AXA XL2018-01-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AXA XL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Nice people Flexible work hrs

    Cons

    I worked as a contractor for years before they finally offered me an (extremely low) salaried position. Don't prioritize the middle office even close to enough.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on keeping the middle office happy. If staff are quitting in droves, make a change. Why would anyone kill themselves attempting excellence when they're already overworked and underpaid?

    AXA XL2017-11-03
  6. "Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Underwriting Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AXA XL for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Leadership Great Managers Flexible Schedules Great Career Development Opportunities High Salaries

    Cons

    Freelancers work as contractors for years.

    AXA XL2016-12-16
  7. "Sr Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriting Assistant in Dublin, OH

    I have been working at AXA XL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, People here are great to work with, always room to learn more in my position

    Cons

    The company just merged with another company last year, job security, unable to go any further in my position

    AXA XL2016-08-04
  8. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA XL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team members, excellent benefits, and the opposite of micromanagement present. I've never felt like I have someone always watching me over my shoulder.

    Cons

    Difficult to move over into different departments; difficult to be promoted. This means your salary tends to hover in the same area for an extended period of time.

    Advice to Management

    Promote more within the company rather than hiring externally.

    AXA XL2015-09-07
Found 8 reviews