ASDA Customer Service Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Customer Service Assistant

ASDA Customer Service Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
70%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
3 Ratings
  1. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was a good job to have as a university student. Flexible hours with opportunity for overtime. Always paid on time. Staff (mostly) friendly and supportive. Optional staff nights out available.

    Cons

    Often under-staffed so I was frequently rushed off my feet, especially when working in the self-scan area. Expected to serve too many customers at once - making customers angry and unpleasant.

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure the self-scan area has at least three employees working at any one time. It is impossible for one or two colleagues to efficiently staff the area - leading to low staff morale and increased chance of customers stealing.

    ASDA2019-10-14
  2. "fair pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Customer Service Assistant in Kilmarnock, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid equally no matter age Above living wage

    Cons

    Sometimes unorganised Can be on feet all day

    ASDA2019-08-17
  3. "Great for you students and Parents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kiosk Checkout Operator/Customer Service Assistant in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible if you are upfront about your situation e.g. uni student mental health issues and parent or a shar very flexible if you are upfront about your situation e.g. uni student mental health issues and parental commitments.

    Cons

    If you suffer from physical injury or are sick often they are not very accommodating and will expect you to come into work instead of resting and taking care of yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Management off and me and our nice if you work. However if you are off sick or physically injured they do expect you to come in. As long as you keep a good Relationship with them they are nice enough.i relationship with them they are nice enough.

    ASDA2019-08-17
  4. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Havant, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for young adults alongside college or uni

    Cons

    Poor management and can get taken advantage of

    ASDA2019-08-22
  5. "Just retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Over time when you wanted it and generally quite lenient on holidays if you were a hard worker

    Cons

    Wasn't taken seriously when I got a head injury at work that required me to take several weeks off and resulted in 3 hospital visits. Managers "forgot" to complete required paperwork and the cctv footage that would prove it an entitle me to sick pay "disappeared". Got my sick pay in the end after getting the union involved. Don't expect to be treated with a shred of respect from upper management for doing a good job

    Advice to Management

    Take your employees seriously and don't take them for idiots. You'll just end up loosing people

    ASDA2019-06-26
  6. "Skeleton staffing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues/friends, sharesave scheme, uniform, discount and some benefits out of work.

    Cons

    Training after magic sessions is a joke - stand and watch for a day, then get on with it. Too many cliques of brown nosers who stand around pretending to actually do anything. Management/Section Leaders don’t back you. Skeleton crew - colleagues who are made to do the job of more than three colleagues job roles, if we fail test we get reprimanded.

    Advice to Management

    Work with your colleagues on the shop floor in your department and speak to them in regards to their concerns, then to work on these concerns as a department which will bring back a feeling of pride and will increase store morale. Rather than pulling them down and disciplining when they fail due to declining colleague levels and morale.

    ASDA2019-06-26
  7. "ASDA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay if on new contract, good amount of hours, career development opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of communication between management and colleagues (depending on which store)

    ASDA2019-01-18
  8. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant/Checkout Supervisor in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours for students as always wanting staff for evening and weekends.

    Cons

    Not a competitive wage when compared to other retail companies.

    ASDA2018-12-12
  9. "Customer service assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours , friendly staff

    Cons

    Expected to work bank holidays even if they aren’t in your conttact also all over Christmas!!

    ASDA2018-10-08
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, helpful teammates and management, good career opportunities.

    Cons

    Often late delivery and equipment not working

    ASDA2018-05-25
Found 29 reviews