ALDI Manager Trainee Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Manager Trainee

ALDI Manager Trainee Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
ALDI  Jason Hart
Jason Hart
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (522)

    "Not for the faint of heart but being able to keep up in this demanding, fast paced retail environment has it's perks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ALDI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + industry leading wages Associates - $12/hr, Shift Mgr - $16/hr, SMT - $23/hr, Store Manager - $75,000+/yr + great work environment + excellent training + health, dental, vision, life insurance, 401k + 40-50 hr/wk with paid overtime Very fast paced so work hours fly by. I loved working at Aldi. The pay was great! Benefits great! Was training to be a store manager so a lot was expected of me but I was totally... up for it. My store manager loved my work, associates loved my fairness, customers loved me.

    Show More

    Cons

    + work/life balance + walked 28,000 steps/day!!! Never thought I would be fired for clocking in only minutes late!!

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to reconsider their firing practice. Totally unfair to be fired by somebody who has never seen you or your work. Voluntary turnaround is out of control due to work load. I get it, its not for everyone, but value those that you do have. I was looking forward to putting in 15-20 years of my life into this company while I watched the average employee last only 3-5. Not disgruntled, more like... heartbroken :'-(

    Show More
    ALDI2016-10-05
  2. "Good Pay, High expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Trainee 

    I have been working at ALDI full-time

    Pros

    Pay, stability, never bored

    Cons

    Long hours, huge work load. Minimal staff at any one time

    ALDI2019-11-08
  3. "part of training program to become store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good money, chance to progress are high

    Cons

    amount of time and work one puts in

    ALDI2019-10-15
  4. "Great pay but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager Trainee 

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pay - Early starts - Keeps you fit

    Cons

    - Long hours - On your feet all day

    Advice to Management

    Great pay but you have to work hard for it. You need to be prepared to work on your feet all day.

    ALDI2019-08-05
  5. "Promotion prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great promotion prospects Chance to learn skills

    Cons

    Long hours Physically demanding Work life balance

    ALDI2019-07-10
  6. "Questionable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for someone who needs money

    Cons

    Terrible culture Terrible work hours Unreasonable expectations

    Advice to Management

    Where to start.....

    ALDI2019-06-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "aldi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Trainee in Miami, FL

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, good company, great price

    Cons

    i lot hours no life balance

    Advice to Management

    need to improve morale in the workplace

    ALDI2019-03-19
  8. "Store Management Trainee If you want to work as a labourer than this is the job for you !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is the pay is alright but one has to decide is it worth having injuries to your body for a lifetime as Aldi doesn't care if you have one. Is it worth going through the mental stress of being blamed for anything and everything. Is it worth working when they say they going to pay you but the underlying message is clock off but continue working for free.

    Cons

    Every person at every level is so much under pressure to reduce wages that it is a joke the amount of work they want to get done in the limited time. Chances of physical injury is very very high and if you get injured than it is your fault or you may have had it before. The care factor is next to zero. If you want to be blamed for anything and everything that is possible in this world and want to go through a... constant mental harassment than this is the job for you!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting so much pressure on yourself and staff before someone actually loses their mental balance. Just stop the concept of overtime or extra hours if one gets harassed for it when they do it. Just implement fix pay and don't bother about clock on or clock off as it is a joke anyhow.

    ALDI2019-02-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Weight loss opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Trainee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With the workload you’re guaranteed to lose weight.

    Cons

    The pay does not match the workload. No clear direction, unreal expectations. No growth opportunities after becoming store manager.

    Advice to Management

    Experience beats a degree.

    ALDI2018-12-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Manager trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Great upper management

    Cons

    Work life balance is non existent.

    ALDI2018-10-17
Found 99 reviews