AECOM Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

AECOM Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4250 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AECOM CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1570 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment and many posibilities for career progresion(in 159 reviews)

  • "Great people with challenging work delivers first class healthcare to our hero's while building a great organization at Defense Health Agency(in 155 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management do not listen to the concerns of lower level employees(in 140 reviews)

  • "Since AECOM acquired URS, the focus of the company seems to be more profit driven than project driven(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Graduate Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Good workplace, good social aspects

    Cons

    Salary raises are timed at certain parts of the year rather than how long you yourself are working there.

    AECOM2017-07-19
  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, relatively relaxed atmosphere, great opportunity to move around different departments or work in different offices around the world.

    Cons

    Pay is a little on the low side

    AECOM2019-02-04
  3. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities if willing to relocate

    Cons

    Constant restructuring and change at every level

    AECOM2018-08-13
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM

    Pros

    Friendly environment with a nice office space Catering is provided Flexible with starting and finishing times.

    Cons

    No obvious downside. Traffic to location could be bad

    Advice to Management

    none

    AECOM2016-09-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Environmental Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AECOM

    Pros

    Broad spectrum of experience Great people Great training

    Cons

    High Pressure, targets to maintain No room for progression after basic grades Poor salaries

    AECOM2016-07-26
  6. "Commercial Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    AECOM is the industry leader in construction and engineering worldwide with significant investment in support and future growth.

    Cons

    As with any large company, the cost of providing and maintaining the (necessary) support systems is significant and affects the competitiveness of salary packages when compared against smaller firms.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the efforts to engage staff in the opportunities for growth

    AECOM2016-04-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wide Variety of Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantity Surveyor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM

    Pros

    Good variety of small, medium & large scale projects across all sectors. Multi-disciplinary company which is good for sharing information and knowledge. Security of job in most economic climates due to working with a Global company.

    Cons

    Very commercially driven company which means low pay compared to competitors. Performance of the company in other sectors and geographies affects me, regardless of how well I perform and this in turn affects my performance and rewards (salary) reviews. Could improve on benefits packages.

    Advice to Management

    Performance & Rewards system needs to be looked at and confined to its local geographies and business lines for rewards to filter down to those who performed well regardless of how the wider company preforms.

    AECOM2016-03-15
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AECOM

    Pros

    Big company, lots of career opportunities.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    AECOM2015-10-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Comany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AECOM for more than a year

    Pros

    Good teams Good reputation Great range of projects

    Cons

    Pay less than other companies Employs too many Graduates as part of it's programme to "train them young and keep inexpensive staff". However, most graduates are incapable of working in this environment and so it puts undue pressure on the rest of the team.

    AECOM2015-06-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Quantity Surveyor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A great place to learn a great deal! Young dynamic workforce with great mentoring and a focus on professional development from the beginning. Great people to work with makes for a fun work environment. Company team building exercises are also great fun when organised! Direct exposure to some excellent projects both locally and globally!

    Cons

    Environment is very fast, long hours are almost expected (leaving on time seems rare). Starting salary is a bit lower than some other companies (but reviews occur every 6 months).

    AECOM2014-10-16
Found 4250 reviews