A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated 22 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group Managing Director; Chairman, Hutchison Whampoa Limited  Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very hard work, can be very long hours and asked to work(in 4 reviews)

  • "It's in Battersea and nothing goes on there(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hmmmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount is 10% on branded and 30% on own brand with Superdrug.

    Cons

    Very hard work, can be very long hours and asked to work long hours with only a moments notice. Left feeling like just a dispensiple number. However if you fall out with management expect to get minimum hours and bad mouthed behind your back.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2020-02-22
  2. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Support Engineer in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free peaks for superdrug

    Cons

    Salary and career progression

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2020-02-19
  3. "Environment not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    1 International Vibe -Working with people from different countries is pretty interesting. Mother company and Business units in different countries so calls sometimes happen in the oddest hours. But no big deal. -Nice people 2 People are friendly in general. - Helpful. Not very high achievers. HR are very busy. They tend to "forget" things. 3Rules Policies -They sent them all out to you. Liking it nice and clear. 4 Good meeting Roomd and Seats - really make you feel like in a conglomerate

    Cons

    1 Horrible pantry Environment. - No real coffee. Only Instant. Was told to bring your own capsules for the third floor machine. - Poor cleanliness. Office is busy but still. pantry is putrid with dirty cups and bowls in the cupboard. That limescale kettle on the third floor should go to the science museum. No one maintains the pantry basically. 2 Hot desking was a joke Some teams and people just occupy certain seats for months. What's the point then. 3 Office location It's in Battersea and nothing goes on there.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2020-02-12
  4. "Good for stable career preference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Good office culture, staff sales

    Cons

    Salary isn't competitive, high workload

    A.S. Watson Group2020-01-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and office culture/ environment, poor everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Working with fun and clever colleagues, good work/ life balance, flexible working, good social life.

    Cons

    Benefits are quite basic and the salary is definitely below industry standard. There are no clear career development opportunities. Not enough recognition given to colleagues who have performed well. Some senior management don't appear to do very much, all talk and no action. Office is in an awkward location by Battersea Bridge.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-12-17
  6. "Finance department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Accountant in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    large scale company Well-developed structure Sufficient resource

    Cons

    No pay OT work OT culture Hard to change company culture

    A.S. Watson Group2019-12-13
  7. "Deisgner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Hong Kong

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice co-workers, stable and comfort work place

    Cons

    Maybe a bit bore if you looking for challenge

    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-20
  8. "Great company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing 
    Recommends

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture is great, and management is visionary to drive the business growth for the whole company

    Cons

    Bureaucratic structure may reduce creativity

    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-19
  9. "This company will help you grow the ability to explore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Clerk in Cebu City
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You gonna gain more knowledge to work with them

    Cons

    Challenging on adjusting what you capable off.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-12

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 15, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and learned a lot in your role. Due to your location, we believe you may have been employed by one of our business units - we will make sure your lovely feedback reaches them. We wish you the best of luck in your future roles.

    Continue reading
  10. "OK For Temporary Employment Solution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Logistics in Ede

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The people are fairly nice to work with -They hire just about everyone who applies to work in their warehouse and you can start right after your interview/test -Free coffee

    Cons

    -The advertisement for the job was misleading. The ad stated they were looking for order pickers and I was never asked to do this job, but instead, I was led to pack boxes. -Production mandates are high and unrealistic -Training is very poor. This causes for panic when you're responsible for packing 150 articles per hour, yet have to keep running to someone to ask questions because the trainer did not teach how to troubleshoot errors. -Hours are terrible; You either have to be there at 06:45 or work until 00:00, with alternating weeks. -Poorly equipped. I struggle to be able to do my job properly because I rarely have everything I need in order to get it done at the speed required.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 102 reviews